Join GRRF and help support the next generation of rice scientists
and scholars interested in rice

Become a Member

Your contributions will enable us to continue to support young people in their efforts to learn about rice. Our only funding comes from gifts from people like you who are interested in rice. Small grants to young scholars often lead them to a life-long interest in rice or rice-growing areas.

How your money helps: One scholar said this after returning:

“I have a tremendous urge to return to Asia and continue my studies in rice. I think I will forever have a heart for it, and I hope an opportunity arises that I can go back to it. If you ever hear of potential opportunities through the GRRF I would certainly be interested. Due to my current position, I’m becoming particularly interested in rice seed pathology and impact on global economies.”

A contribution of $25 or more makes you a member and entitles you to vote at GRRF’s annual meeting.

Corporate Contributions are welcomed. Contact President and Corporate Secretary, Bob Zeigler: [email protected] – (650) 798-7939.


The GRRF Memorial Fund

The GRRF Memorial Fund has been established to honor the memories of friends and loved ones who contributed so much to advancing knowledge about rice and helping others achieve better lives. Donations may be made to honor the memory of any person who had a connection to the rice world through the International Rice Research Institute. One-half of Memorial funds are used for annual awards and half are kept to generate earnings for future GRRF programs.”

A bequest in Memory of James Moomaw was recently received by GRRF, made possible by provisions in the will of his late widow, Carolyn Moomaw Wilhelm. We are most grateful for this gift honoring Jim, the first IRRI agronomist. His ongoing work is evident in the long-term rice production plots at IRRI, which in 2021 produced their 170th crop.



Current Members:

Diamond ($1,000+) 

Short Heinrichs

Jim Hill

Jan Leach

Renu Miles

Platinum ($500-$999)

Ronnie Coffman

SK DeDatta

Septi Endang

Russ Freed

Kristin Heinrichs Stark

Bob Herdt

Jennifer Herdt

Peter Hobbs

Gurdev Khush

J.K. Ladha

Dave Mackill

Susan McCouch

Kevin Murphy

Mike Tompson

Bob Zeigler

Gold ($250-$499)

Ken Cassman

Ranjiv Khush

Ed Price

Pam Ronald

Mark Rosegrant

Silver ($100-$249)

Adam Famoso

Thais Fernanda Stella de Freitas

Dwight Kanter

Peter Kelly

Rui Liu

Pam Russell

Bronze ($25-$99)

Karim Maredia

Julia Baily-Serres






Memorial donations made To GRRF honor:

Hank Beachell, Plant Breeder at IRRI, Los Baños from 1963 to 1982, later in the Indonesia Outreach program for 10 years. He is honored by many former colleagues.

Nyle Brady, Director General of IRRI, 1973 to 1981. He is honored by many former colleagues.

Frank Byrnes, Communication Specialist at IRRI, 1963 to 1967. He is honored by his son Kerry.

T.T. Chang, Geneticist and Plant Breeder at IRRI, 1961 to 1991. He is honored by his son Dean and former colleagues.

Bob Chandler, Founding Director of IRRI, 1960 to 1972. He is honored by many former colleagues.

John Flinn, Senior Scientist in the Social Sciences Division, 1978 to 1991. He is honored by Alice Flinn Stillwell.

Bill Golden, Extension Specialist at IRRI, 1964 to 1975. He is honored by many former colleagues.

Tom Hargrove, Communication Specialist at IRRI, 1973 to 1991. He is honored by many former colleagues and friends.

Bob Havener, Acting Director General of IRRI in 1998. He is Honored by many former colleagues.

Mahabub Hossain, Senior Scientist in economics at IRRI, 1987 to 2007. He is honored by Prabhu Pingali and other former colleagues.

Bob Huggan, Communication Specialist at IRRI, 1993 to 1998. He is honored by former colleagues.

Jean Kauffman, the wife of Harold Kauffman, a Senior Scientist in plant pathology and germplasm networking at IRRI, 1969 To 1981. She is honored by Harold.

Colin McClung, Deputy DG of IRRI, 1964 To 1971. He is honored by many IRRI staff members and former colleagues.

Jim Moomaw, Agronomist and Soils Scientist at IRRI, 1961 to 1967. He is honored by Carolyn Moomaw Wilhelm and former colleagues.

Hugh Murphy, IRRI Director of Administration for over 10 years beginning in 1972.

Ernie Nunn, Director of Operations at the IRRI Experiment Station, 1989 to 1995. He is honored by former colleagues.

Urbito Ongleo, Photographer in the IRRI Communications Department. He is honored by former colleagues.

Edwin Oyer, close colleague of many IRRI staff and member of the UP-Cornell project. He is honored by Susan R. McCouch.

Durga Pathak, wife of Mano Pathak, Senior Scientist in entomology and pest management at IRRI, 1961 To 1989. She is honored by her daughter Renu Pathak Miles.

Mano Pathak, Entomologist and Assistant Director General at IRRI is honored by his children and former colleagues.

Beverly Rockwood, wife of Walt Rockwood, Communications Specialist at IRRI, 1976 to 1982. She is honored by Walt and by their children, Tim, Pam and Bill.

Walt Rockwood​, A Founder of GRRF, longtime Editor at IRRI, coach of the IRRI Little League Team, mentor to many. He is honored by many former colleagues.

Orly Santos, Associate Manager of the Experiment Station at IRRI, 1987 to 1994. He is honored by former colleagues.

Marcos Vega, Deputy Director General of IRRI with responsibilities for national relationships, 1972 to 1986. He is honored by former colleagues.

Ben Vergara, plant physiologist at IRRI, 1961 To 1997. He is honored by many former colleagues. 

Edith Yalong, member of the Asia Rice Foundation Board, Executive Secretary to the IRRI Director General, 1974 to 1985. She is honored by former colleagues.

Your support, in any amount will help make it possible to continue these awards. All funds received are used for program purposes.

Board members contribute their time and expenses and receive no compensation.
GRRF is recognized by the US Internal Revenue Service as a non-profit charitable organization so you can deduct your gift to GRRF just like you deduct gifts to your other favorite charities.